Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

More Bing… Sort of

NOTE: My friend had talked about listening to Bing’s version of Bob White.

Bob White is a swinging little number but I had the devil of a time trying to find videos of it! I finally came up with this 1937 version by Martha Tilton with Benny Goodman’s orchestra. The lyrics were written by Johnny Mercer who I just “discovered” thanks to my friend. I put discovered in quotes because Mercer penned many of the best songs of the 20th century and I had no idea!

And now for more Bing!  Here’s the song my friend was probably listening to when he thought of the music from The Shining. It’s called “Moonlight Becomes You” and it really is very similar to the song “Midnight and the Stars and You” in the movie.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

