Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Der Bingle

The song “San Fernando Valley” was written for a 1943 Roy Rogers Dale Evans pic. Bing took it and made it a number one hit in 1944. I have no idea where this video comes from but I wish I did. It looks like amateur footage of Bing crooning for GI couples. One observer notes that Bing appears to be working sans toupee. Bing is in excellent voice in this one!

On a side note, I don’t know if my friend actually lives in the San Fernando Valley or not. The restrainig order is pretty clear that I’m not supposed to try to find out. But I spent a large chunk of my youth there and he would have been moving to the area just as I was leaving for the midwest. Perhaps, for a month or two, he and I shared the same general geographic region. That’s totally Ladyhawke romantic ain’t it?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

