Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Henry Mancini

From 1967, here is Mancini’s
“Two For The Road”. This not the version from the actual movie but it’s the best I could find on You Tube.

I want to be careful not to make these posts into my own personal blog with someone else’s musical tastes on the front. This isn’t supposed to be about me. So, without further ado, here’s some more about me:

I watched the movie too. Here’s the plot summary from IMDB ” Joanna is in a touring girl’s choir and Mark is a struggling architect when they first meet on the road in Europe. The film follows their life together — through courtship and marriage, infidelity and parenthood— all on the road in a variety of cars through a score of
time-shifting vignettes.”

It is a very good film and it really got me thinking, which isn’t surprising since I over intellectualize EVERYTHING. It’s one of my more “endearing” qualities. I’ll just share a couple of thoughts because, as my dear mother always says, “We ain’t got all day.”*

First of all, what would it be like to be Audrey Hepburn and just be stunning all the time? Do you suppose it’s more blessing or burden?

Second, this film really got me thinking about the whole concept of what’s involved in making a long term relationship work. As a single woman over 40, I’m probably way out of my depth here but I’ll take a stab. The main thing I came up with is that you really can’t think too much about it. It’s more a hands on experience. Maybe people just try to make each other as happy as they can and when they can’t do that they at least try not to make each other miserable. When they do make each other miserable from time to time they should try to at least be really sorry about it. When you get to the end you can look back along the path and hope the gold outshines the dross and that’s how you know you got your happy ending.(I did warn you about the over intellectualizing)

Okay enough about me! </me>

*My mother never says that.

Comments on: "Henry Mancini" (1)

  1. “I don’t want to make this about me” Yeah, right!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

