Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Art Tatum

NOTE: My friend had made a comment about a trip to The Farmer’s Market. Amazing place, do go if you’re ever in LA.

“Begin the Beguine” is a Cole Porter composition that was first introduced by June Knight in the Broadway musical Jubilee. The Beguine is a Latin dance similar to the rumba. I’d always wondered about that but apparently never enough to Google it until now. The song was also featured in the movie “Broadway Melody of 1940”. Fred Astaire and Eleanor Powell did a fantastic dance number to the piece.

I had heard of Art Tatum but I’d never listened to him play before. He’s amazing. He was mostly blind and he died young. There’s not much written about him and not much video footage exists either. He was in the 1947 movie “The Fabulous Dorsey Boys” so I found it streaming online and watched it too just to see the man at work. Here’s a YouTube slide show with Art doing “Begin the Beguine”

I try to keep it family friendly on this thread so let me just say if you are a foodie, you are definitely going to need a cigarette after a visit to the LA Farmer’s Market! I am a bit of a foodie and I’d be more of one if there wasn’t so much clean up involved. I regret that I couldn’t spend more time at the Farmer’s Market when I lived close but most of the time I lived there I didn’t have a car. In LA you go nowhere without a car!

Comments on: "Art Tatum" (1)

  1. […] love Art Tatum! I’ve posted about him a few times on this blog and listened to him on You Tube quite a lot […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

