Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Duke Ellington

The Perfume Suite was composed by Duke Ellington and Billy Strayhorn. It consists of four movements which attempt to describe the characteristics a woman takes on when she wears perfume. The first movement is called Balcony Serenade. It represents “pure love” according to Ellington. The second is called Strange Feelings and it represents violence. The third movement is my favorite. It’s called Dancers In Love and it portrays naivete. The last movement is Coloratura and it represents complete sophistication and “it’s frightfully grand” to quote Duke himself.

there’s a great 1947 jazz short featuring George Pal’s Puppetoons and Duke Ellington himself. It’s called “A Date With Duke” and it contains the first and third movements of Perfume Suite but I can’t find it to post.

I wonder if Soupy used the grumpy perfume’s dance as the inspiration for The Mouse. Almost certainly not but the resemblance is pretty uncanny.

I’ve always thought perfume was pretty much just about sex. I’ve never had a scent make me want to haul off and punch a passing stranger nor has any aroma restored my doe eyed innocence so far. But since I’m more of a scented body wash girl maybe I just don’t have enough experience with the subject.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

