Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Herbie Nichols

Herbie Nichols only ever recorded four albums and three of them were for Blue Note. His compositions have a very distinctive style which I like very much. His most famous song was “Lady Sings The Blues” which was made popular by Billie Holiday. She liked it so much she used it as the title for her biography. Here is Herbie Nichols rendition of “Lady Sings The Blues”

The 1972 movie “Lady Sings The Blues” starring Diana Ross came out when I was a kid and it ruined my life! Okay that might be a slight exaggeration. Those who know me might find this hard to believe but I tended to have a teeny flare for the dramatic as a child. It’s a shocking revelation I’m sure since I’ve totally outgrown it now, but it’s true. Whenever I was lamenting one of my “lost at checkers” or “wrong color Popsicle” tragedies, my mother would start singing “Lady sings the blues. She’s got it bad. She feels so sad…” and everyone in earshot would mock my woe. Oh the humanity! Seriously though, on this day of gratitude I say thanks Mom for the music and for the funny.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

