Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Larry Gelbart Tribute

NOTE: The tune in the video was written by Frank Loesser but Larry Gelbart’s passing was the subject of discussion. Larry’s widow Pat had sung the song in question in tribute to him at his memorial service.

I remember Larry’s name best from the ending credits of “M*A*S*H”, but he also co-wrote the movies “Tootsie” and “Oh God.” Gelbart also wrote the long running broadway hit “A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To The Forum.” His other radio, television, movie and stage credits are too numerous to name here. He died September 11 of this year at age 81. He is survived by his widow Patricia Gelbart.

Obviously I don’t have any footage of Pat singing the song at the tribute. I don’t know if I’d post it if I did. Earlier I said I’d put the Jo Stafford version of the song up but I’ve changed my mind. I decided to go with Anne Bancroft because it’s live and I think maybe it captures some of the sadness one must feel after such a loss.

Pat and Larry were together 53 years. When I read that it gave me pause to think that even if true love dropped into my lap right now, it’s statistically unlikely that I’ll live long enough to spend 53 years with anyone. Don’t get me wrong, I do think I might still have a good year or two in me should that happily ever after opportunity present itself… I guess. The cynic in me wonders if I’m not still single after all these years because I’m basiclly content that way. Of course, the romantic in me always reminds me of my desire for companionship, my love of giving and sharing, and the just plain niftiness of physical intimacy! Yes, it appears my inner romantic is an Osmond.**

**DEFINITELY untrue!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

