Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Bill Evans

I checked back in the thread because I thought Bill Evans might be the most frequently posted artist. It turns out Bing Crosby holds that honor. Bill is the most frequently posted pianist.

Late in his life Bill Evans kicked his heroin addiction and took up cocaine. The cocaine addiction eventually killed him. A similar thing appears to have happened to Chet Baker even though technically Baker was killed by a fall from a window. He was high on coke at the time. I’m told one can live a fairly long and miserable life as an opiate addict but cocaine will kill you quick.

Here’s Bill in 1979 playing “My Romance” he died in 1980.

I often say I am both an internet and a carbohydrate junkie because I eat too much and I spend way too much time sitting in front of my computer. I recognize those lifestyle choices are not particularly healthy but I don’t know think they constitute true addiction. Of course I could just be in total denial about it. I guess we’ll have to wait until a worldwide internet blackout causes a great donut and potato chip embargo to find out!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

