Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

“Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid” was released in 1969. It starred Robert Redford and Paul Newman at the peak of their pulchritude. The film won 4 Oscars and rottentomatoes.com rates it at 90% fresh. I haven’t seen it myself but Roger Ebert doesn’t seem to have cared for it much. I couldn’t find it streaming online but I did find a “Making Of…” documentary and I watched that. I now have many fascinating insights into a film I’ve never seen.

I have heard most of the soundtrack and it is quite good. The tunes all have a great jazzy pop style… that someone thought would be a good soundtrack for a western. Maybe it’s just me but I do not get it! I watched clips of all the major musical interludes and I’m no less baffled. None of the music seems to fit the scenes they underscore. What does the optimism anthem “Raindrops Keep Falling On My Head” have to do with the bicycle based courtship between Butch and Etta? Check out “South American Getaway.” This, my friends, is Burt Bacharach’s answer to chase music. I don’t know, maybe it all makes much more sense when you see the whole movie.

I’ve often wished I was more of a movie buff. I do love movies but it seems I’ve hardly seen anything of note.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

