Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Al Stewart

“Year Of The Cat” was written in 1975 which, according to the Vietnamese zodiac, was the year of the cat. It was released in 1976. Although it contains several references to the movie “Casablanca,” it’s not really about the movie… I don’t think. “Casablanca” is yet another in the long list of movies I’ve never seen.** Apparently, the song was originally about a British comedian who killed himself. Even though I love a sad song, I’m glad he decided to go with the happy, breezy tune with about the extended love affair.

The next year of the cat will begin February 3, 2011. Years of the cat are supposed to be stress free. I bet a lot of people will be eager for that break! February 14 of this year we’ll be celebrating the year of the tiger. Tiger years are “mood swinging, vigorous, and hard working.” So while we’re waiting for our stress free mellow, let’s check out this nice live version of “Year Of The Cat.”

The guy I like was born in the Vietnamese year of the monkey. That means he’s an “erratic genius.” I was born in the year of the goat which makes me “calm and shy, unassertive and self-effacing.” According to one website I checked, he and I are not a good Vietnamese love match. The translation was a bit rough but it seemed to have something to do with me being a sullen, unlovable shrew and him liking group sex. Eerie how accurate these things are isn’t it?

**I know, what the hell is wrong with me?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

