Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Tony Williams

Larry Young was known as the Coltrane of the organ. He started as an R&B organist but fell in love with jazz early in his career. He recorded his first album in 1960 at the age of 19. Young recorded many solo albums and he collaborated with greats like Miles Davis, Jimi Hendrix, and Carlos Santana. His brief career ended in 1978 when he was admitted to the hospital complaining of severe stomach pain. He died a few days later of untreated pneumonia. He was 38 years old.

Larry Young’s music evolved drastically over the course of his career. If anyone is interested I recommend going to Last FM to listen to some of his work. I had a tough time choosing a sample because there is such a wide variety of sounds in his music catalog. I finally decided on this live concert clip from his work with the jazz-rock fusion band The Tony Williams Lifetime. The song is called “Circa 45” and it’s from the 1971 album “Ego.” The video is very dark and difficult to see but Larry is wearing an Arabian headdress.

And now back to winter. Sunny and 70’s is my idea of perfect weather but even though we are down to single digits currently, I’m actually not feeling any winter blues yet.** Life here has been pretty good. We are in good health and good spirits. Frankly I have been feeling a bit guilty about mentioning it because it seems everyone I know online and in person is having a rough start to 2010. I wish I knew a way to lighten the burdens of all my friends and loved ones. Or barring that, I wish I had the cash to travel the countryside giving chocolate, hugs and scalp massages to all my stressed out peeps.

**Check back with me in March.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

