Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Bing Crosby and Bob Hope

Both Bing and Bob lived in the Toluca Lake district in the San Fernando Valley. Bob settled in and lived there until his passing. Bing lived in the area from 1936 – 1943 when his home was gutted by a fire. The family was away at the time but the family dog unfortunately perished. I couldn’t find any info on where the Crosby family lived after that but I do know Bing and Bob were two of the richest men in Hollywood in their time. I am sure they did both own sizeable chunks of the valley!

I already posted Bing singing the song “San Fernando Valley” or I’d have put that one up. I’ve had the song “When I Take My Sugar To Tea” on my mind all day because I was humming it at work while I was sipping my chamomile. But the video doesn’t have Bing and I also already posted that one. Since we haven’t done Bob and Bing yet, it seems like a pretty good time to post a duet! Here are Bob Hope and Bing Crosby singing “Road To Morocco” from the 1942 movie of the same title. “Family Guy” fans will recognize the tune.

I moved to the west side of the valley in the middle of my junior year of high school and I lived there for 11 years. As you can, imagine I did a lot of growing behind those hills. I was just thinking about just how many of my life’s important “firsts” happened in the valley. I had my first French kiss, my first car, and I had my first… “you know,” Embarassed out there too.**

**My first checking account of course. I blush because my first checks had Ziggy on them. How embarrassing!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

