Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

The album is unambiguously titled “John Coltrane And Johnny Hartman.” It’s one of a few all ballad albums that Coltrane recorded between 1962-63. All but one of the 6 tracks were recorded in one take. I’ve heard five of the tracks and this is a really nice album. Coltrane and Hartman’s version of Billy Strayhorn’s “Lush Life” is considered by many to be the definitive version of the song. I didn’t choose to post that one today. I decided to go with the only song on the album which required two takes, “My One And Only Love.” The drummer dropped a stick during the first take. I think this song has a nice balance between saxophone and voice. I’m also a sucker for a sweet love song. This one is ideal for a romantic slow dance with someone special!

The valley is full of movie studios. There’s NBC in Burbank, Universal in Universal City, and CBS in Studio City. I’m not sure if CBS offers a tour but if they do I never took it. I did tour NBC and, I went to Universal often. It was actually pretty easy to sneak into Universal back in the day. Of course I didn’t do such things on a fairly regular basis. I was a paragon of virtue and good citizenship in my misspent youth!

Comments on: "John Coltrane and Johnny Hartman" (1)

  1. […] one of the best balladeers of all time. Even though he was the only singer ever to record with John Coltrane, he never achieved much notoriety until more than a decade after his death when Clint Eastwood […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

