Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Melody Gardot

Melody is a 25 year old jazz singer/song writer. She is also a Budhist and a Humanitarian. In 2003, a motorist struck her while she was cycling in Philadelphia. She suffered multiple injuries which left her bed ridden for a year. Her injuries have left her with an extreme sensitivity to bright light and sound. She almost always wears dark glasses. She also suffers from acute short term memory loss.

The song was recorded in 2008 and released in April 2009 on the album “My One And Only Thrill.” Melody says the song is about “two coquette people who won’t admit they are in love with each other.” When I heard it I thought the singer’s feelings had been really hurt by a thoughtless lover. But what do I know? The official video is on You Tube but I decided to go with this live version instead. It’s from the Swedish talk show Skavlan.

Ain’t love interesting? Several months ago I took a hiatus from the pusuit of romance. I just wasn’t in the mood for the chase, or whatever the kids are calling it these days. The funny thing is, in the last few weeks,  love seems to have gotten mighty interested in me. Between live encounters and suddenly active dating site profiles, I’ve had a flurry of interested suitors! In the last three weeks I’ve had one scab eater, one married “but it’s practically over between us,” one married “but she just doesn’t understand me like I know you would,” and a violent felon (alleged). The last charmer goes to court next week and he’s sure he’ll be able to prove “the b*tch was lying.” Yeesh! It isn’t always this bad but right now I’m starting to wonder if the nearest convent is taking applications.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

