Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Coltrane On Mulholland

Train of thought I won’t be pursuing in this post: Addiction destroys lives and that’s a fact. Still I can’t help but wonder if jazz music, or music in general for that matter, would be as amazing without drugs.

I chose Coltrane’s version of “My Favorite Things” from the 1961 album of the same name. Why? I listened to an interview a comedian I like gave last night on internet radio where he said the movie “Mary Poppins” had a huge impact on him when he was a kid. “Mary Poppins” is one of my all time favorite musicals (yes, I do say that a lot). “My Favorite Things” is from “Sound Of Music” but they’re both great Julie Andrews flicks so I figure, close enough! It’s also a great live video with terrific solos by Coltrane, McCoy Tyner, and Eric Dolphy.

A friend of mine likes to hike Mulholland while listening to Coltrane. I wonder where the heck he hikes on Mulholland and still lives to tell the tale. The Mulholland Drive I know is a busy road. It’s twisty and really narrow in spots and people drive it like maniacs. The views are spectacular and the make out spots plentiful but you wouldn’t catch me up there on foot! Of course, it is a long road so there could very well be safe places to walk that I either never saw or don’t remember. Or maybe his middle name is “Danger” so likes his walks on the wild side.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

