Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

“Live At The Village Vanguard” contains the first recordings of Coltrane’s experimentation with free jazz. The original full length LP contained only three songs. One side was devoted to “Chasin’ The Trane” which is 15 minutes long and is widely considered one of his most important recordings. The other side has two songs, one called “Spiritual” and the other “Softly As In A Morning Sunrise” which I’ve played on the thread before (I think). I took this video from the 1997 “The Complete Village Vanguard Recordings”. I’ve already played the shortest song on the original album and neither of the other two songs fit in single a YouTube video. So we’re going with this cool version of “Greensleeves” from the ‘97 box set.

The Village Vanguard club is still there! Unlike Birdland it’s been continuously open at the same address for nearly 75 years now. Performers say the building’s triangular shape makes for amazing acoustics and the creative energy of the spirits who have passed through that place must be amazing.  When I get to New York one day I am so there! I have no jazz loving friends IRL. I have no choice but to either drag a reluctant country music fan or wait for hijack one of my internet jazz friends. I just hope no one minds sippin’ Roy Rogers with me while I attempt to dampen my fan girl giddiness about the ghosts of jazz greats past.

Comments on: "Coltrane At The Village Vanguard" (1)

  1. […] leader Sun Ra. He came to prominence while playing with John Coltrane in 1965. After his time with Coltrane he formed a partnership with vocalist Leon Thomas which produced his most famous song “The […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

