Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

“Morning Becomes Eclectic” is an adult alternative radio show broadcast from KCRW Santa Monica. KCRW a public radio station which carries NPR programming, talk radio, and free form music shows.  The “Morning…” show also streams online for anyone who is interested. Here’s the link:

http://www.kcrw.com/music/programs/mb/mbe

It’s three hours long so I didn’t listen to the whole thing. I did skim through the songs though and even though I’d never heard most of them, I found I liked about 60%. That’s probably not enough to make this a regular podcast listen for me but it was a cool break from my normal nerd listening fare.

I knew exactly two songs from the broadcast. One was Erykah Badu’s “Window Seat” and the other was Hot Chip’s “I Feel Better.” I like Erykah’s song and it has a nice jazzy feel. The video’s got controversial strippin’ too so check it out if you’ve got the time. I decided to go with Hot Chip because the video is beyond bizarre. I had to post it! It’s the official promotional video and it was directed by British comedian Peter Serafinowicz. The pretty boy band featured in the video is not the actual Hot Chip btw. You might want to prepare your puzzled puppy head tilt in advance. Enjoy!

A mind is a terrible thing to waste on driving. Who wants to concentrate on a mundane commute when there are vast mental landscapes to explore. I once spent a three and a half hour drive creating an elaborate plan for solving all the world’s problems. It’d work too and all I’d need are several advanced degrees, a time machine, and a vast personal fortune. The trip was safe, uneventful, and carnage free (probably). Naysayers might call me a “crazy dreamer” or a “grizzly vehicular homicide waiting to happen,” but I believe my dreamy driving could be the key to the salvation of mankind!*

*What delusions of grandeur?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

