Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

In his heyday, Nat King Cole’s albums outsold Sinatra’s. In 1956 he became the first Black host of a television variety show. The show aired without national sponsorship since major companies were unwilling to risk the ire of Southern White consumers. Even though it got excellent ratings, it only lasted a year before Cole himself decided to cancel it citing financial loss. Unfortunately, he was a heavy smoker who believed that cigarettes kept his voice low. He died of lung cancer in 1965.

When you search Nat King Cole on You Tube you’ll find an embarrassment of riches! I had a tough time choosing just one sample to post here today. I finally decided to go with a song called “Let There Be Love” because the video is in color and the happy little song reminds me of spring.

Every spring I get bombarded with junk mail ads from the lawn treatment companies offering to kill the pretty yellows, purples, whites, and pinks dotting my lawn. I throw em straight in the recycling bin. I think my “grass killers” are beautiful and I let them grow as free as the lawn mower will allow on my grass.

I actually made dandelion wine from the pretty yellow blossoms on my lawn once. My daughter, who was two then, helped me pick the flowers. Yes, I made moonshine with my toddler. (Gee, why hasn’t the Mother Of The Year committee called?) I suppose the fact that I don’t drink makes dandelion wine an interesting choice for a summer project, but it was fun. Of course, 4 years later I still have about 3 gallons of suspicious looking yellow liquid sitting on the shelf. I suppose I should either cook with it or throw it out. I get tired of telling people “No I’m not Howard Hughes, it’s WINE!

Comments on: "Nat King Cole and Team Dandelion" (2)

  1. […] NPR radio transcript where I got the Horwitz quote also mentions that Nat King Cole didn’t start singing until later in his music career and only then did he become a real […]

  2. […] could turn ugly at a moment’s notice. I’m glad this song is in our arsenal. The last time I posted it I said it reminded me of Spring for some strange reason. It still does and I still have […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

