Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Roamin’ With Jobim

Jobim saves my sanity in winter. When the windchill outside is trying to freeze off all of my favorite extremities, Jobim’s songs allow my mind to escape to a warm Caribbean island holiday.

Jobim had a very successful career in his native Brazil before he came to prominence in the English speaking world when he collaborated with Stan Getz, and husband and wife team Joao and Astrud Gilberto on the 1963 album “Getz/Gilberto.” He enjoyed international acclaim continued working until his death in 1994.

I’ve already played a few Jobim songs on this thread but there are lots more great ones! Here’s “Corcovado (Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars)” from a “Getz/Gilberto” re-release.

I’m headed out of town next weekend! No I’m not going on a Caribbean holiday unfortunately. I’m taking off to the Great White North! Well, Minnesota anyway. I’ll get to see Josh Weinstein’s stand-up act at the Acme Comedy Club on Saturday. Then I’ll do fun touristy stuff with friends new and old. Then I’ll round off the weekend with a trip to “w00tstock!” What’s a w00tstock you ask? I have no earthly idea except it’s a show that features some people I like. It was inexpensive and a good excuse to travel and meet cool people while I get my laugh on. (You can tell by my lingo that I’m hip and down with the street. Right?)

I’ll definitely hang a camera around my neck and, as usual, I probably won’t take a single picture with it. I will write a report though and put it down here because I think it will have a chance of being seen but I can’t think of any musical tie in. Minnesota is a great state to be sure but I don’t really think it’s known for it’s swingin’ jazz scene. Ah well, if no one brings up a song around that time I may have to choose something myself then bend the segue to its breaking point to make that post fit! (’Cause I’ve never done that before you see…)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

