Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

“The Gentleman Is A Dope.” is from the Rogers and Hammerstein musical “Allegro” which opened in 1947. The song became a hit for Jo the same year. I don’t know exactly what the clip is from but if I had to venture a guess I’d say it’s from “The Jo Stafford Show” (1954). She’s accompanied by her hubby Paul Weston and his orchestra.

Most men I know are decent human beings who don’t deserve grief so I try to avoid man bashing as much as possible. Unless, of course, the insults are set to a catchy tune because I must confess I love songs like this! This is clearly a song about unrequited love but I think it also doubles as a pretty good anthem for any guy who makes a foolish error in judgment or a bone head mistake. What amazes me most is that a song written so long ago could EXACTLY describe my own relationship with Denzel Washington!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

