Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

“The Red Shoes” is a 1948 British film which stars Moira Shearer, Leonide Massine, and Marius Goring. It’s  the most popular ballet film ever made. The story is actually a love triangle. The beautiful Victoria Page (Shearer) must choose between her love of the handsome Julian Craster (Goring) and her love of the dance. I don’t want to give too much away but if you are familiar with the Hans Christian Anderson story, you have probably guessed that it’s a tragedy. The film was recently restored at UCLA and it was screened in the renovated Egyptian Theater on 6/24. The movie was the first to stage an extended dance sequence in the middle of the film. Other films like “An American In Paris” would follow suit but this was the original. I’ll post both halves of the ballet “The Red Shoes.” The choreography is masterful!

This section is titled:

PWNED!: Beautiful The Bigot Learns A Lesson

I also watched “Sex And The Single Girl” this week. I’m a feminist so when I saw in the Netflix plot summary that it was based on a book by Helen Gurley Brown I thought it would be right up my alley! I will probably end up in movie lover’s hell for saying so but,even though there were many good points, I really did not like it. Henry Fonda and Tony Curtis were both good and Lauren Bacall was great. The movie soundtrack even had some awesome Count Basie numbers in it. But the plot was a big unfunny mess to me and even though Natalie Wood was beautiful, her performance seemed very wooden and unnecessarily shouty. It got a couple stars out of me but I wouldn’t go out of my way to see it again.

When I read the plot summary for “The Red Shoes” I didn’t think I’d like it at all. The male character descriptions seemed overly Neanderthalish and the female seemed overly weak and foolish. But it’s a musical with dancing so I figured I’d watch it anyway. I was blown away. It was one of the best movies I’ve seen in a long time. So anyway yeah, it turns out that, perhaps, prejudice is kind of a bad thing. I know it’s a bold and pioneering notion but now you can all say you heard it here first.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

