Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Count Basie’s career spanned 60 years from 1924 to 1984. He made numerous recordings and film appearances. Here’s a very cool public domain clip from a 1950 music and comedy show called “Rhythm and Blues Review.” The show featured performances by Basie, Nat King Cole, Sarah Vaugn, Cab Calloway, Lionel Hampton and many others.  You can watch the whole thing on archive.org. Here’s the link:

Rhythm And Blues Review

Here’s the video. It features an all star band playing “One O’clock Jump” which was one of Basie’s signature numbers. He played it at the end of all his concerts.

I love to travel and I have a raging case of ADD so it takes very little to set my little hummingbird mind off to planning imaginary trips to New York City. It’s one of my dream vacations after all. The clip was filmed at the Apollo so naturally I wanted to plan my head trip around a good time to visit that theater. It turns out on a jazz loving friend of mine’s birthday there’s a modern silent film called “Louis” playing there. The blurb says “It is an homage to Louis Armstrong, Charlie Chaplin, beautiful women and the birth of the great American art form called Jazz.” The Wynton Marsalis Ensemble is providing live accompaniment so it should sound great!  A silent film about a musical art form is certainly a bold choice. I’ll have to see it myself to say whether or not it is a good choice. I have almost everything I need to make my imaginary vacation a reality and I still have a whole month and a half to find a billionaire boyfriend with a private Leer jet. Keep watching for an awesome road trip write up in early September ’cause this could totally happen people!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

