Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

This is a clip from a 1967 TV special called “Frank Sinatra: A Man and His Music + Ella + Jobim.” This clip features the songs”Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars,” “Change Partners,” “I Concentrate On You,” and “The Girl From Ipanema.” Sinatra and Jobim had also recorded an album together earlier that year which featured all of those songs plus a few others.

I doubt it’d be fun to get “Girl From Ipanema” like attention all the time. I don’t think anyone would be thrilled to make every single “boy she passes go ‘ah’.” It is nice, however, to be noticed on occasion by the people we find attractive. It used to happen to me a bit more often when I was younger and cuter but it still occasionally happens even now. I was even gazed at from across a crowded room at a panel discussion I attended just last winter. I never did talk to the guy so I have no idea what that was really about. I have chosen to believe it was because I was at least sort of interesting to look at and not because I had something giant and green hanging from my nose.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

