Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

“Well Did You Eva” was written in 1939 for a Broadway musical but it was added to the 1956 movie “High Society” at the last minute because Bing and Sinatra didn’t have a number together. I have never seen the movie but according to IMDB it’s based on “The Philadelphia Story” which I also haven’t seen. The person who wrote the IMDB synopsis seems to have loved “The Philadelphia Story” and HATED “High Society!” I can’t find either one streaming online and that’s seriously bumming me out! Apparently it’s a love triangle (well square really with three men and a little lady). I really wanna know who Katherine Hepburn/Grace Kelly picked. If I had to make a guess I’d say it was almost certainly Cary Grant/Bing Crosby. I’m sure Google would give me the answer but where’s the fun in that?

You may find this hard to believe but there are some who consider me a bit of a drama queen. I know, I was shocked to hear it too! I’m sure no one who reads this staid and somber thread would ever get the impression that I have a flair for the dramatic! Okay, perhaps I am a tad “colorful” at times. The sad thing is, even with all this fabulous dramatic flair, I have almost no acting talent. I say “almost” because there is actually one thing I do pretty well. Like Sinatra in that clip, I’m told I do a pretty good fake drunk. In fact it’s my standard show stopping party piece (meaning I did it at a party once and some people laughed). My point in mentioning this (and if you’ve been reading this thread at all and you’re still expecting a point I pity your frustration) is that because my talent matches his in this one, admittedly limited area, I now feel confident in telling everyone I meet that I am every bit as talented as Frank Sinatra!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

