Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

This fantastic number is from the 1955 movie “It’s Always Fair Weather.” I was convinced I’d seen this one before but I watched some other clips of it and realized I hadn’t. I think I’ve just watched the skating number so often I convinced myself I knew the whole film. Please enjoy the amazing choreography and the song that lets Gene put the “fun” back in dysfunctional.

I’m sure Gene wasn’t being the least bit codependent! I’m sure once his enabling girlfriend helped him to see himself through the healing perspective of her loving eyes and recognize all the wonderful qualities that were there all along he never wallowed in self doubt again. I’m also sure that, after hearing that said girlfriend was smitten with him, the fact that Gene Kelly wandered off and did a lavish and mooney eyed love song and dance number not to her but  to himself  is not a warning sign at all. Those crazy kids should proceed with alacrity to the nearest altar!

Honestly though I think most human beings are just giant bundles of neuroses and most of our relationships are codependent to some degree. Perhaps the key to happiness is finding someone with the same color emotional baggage as you and trying to put all your pieces together to make a matching set. **

**Look for this and other meaningless platitudes in my exciting new self help book. Coming this fall!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

