Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Here’s Leonard Bernstein’s On The Waterfront Suite based on the music he wrote for the movie.

Here’s part 2

‎And part 3

This is the first time I’ve ever heard this lovely suite. I’m glad people do performances like these because I don’t tend to notice soundtrack music while I’m watching a movie. I’m told by people more clever than me that’s a good thing. They say the best scores “enhance a scene, they do not steal it.” That’s all well and good but it seems to me I miss an awful lot of great music simply because it’s too well written for me to hear! I wonder if there’s a walk-a-thon for soundtrack deafness. If not I think I may have just found my million dollar idea!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

