Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

A Most Unusual Day” was written for the 1948 movie “A Date With Judy” which I’m watching as I type. It’s not great cinema to be sure but at the time this was made, movies directed at teenage audiences were unheard of. I guess you could say “A Date With Judy” was the original “High School Musical.”  There are lots of excellent versions of “A Most Unusual Day” floating around the net but I think the Lawrence Welk version best reflects the spirit of the original. The blurb on the video says this clip is from 1971.

Today is a most unusual day in geek/nerd history. It’s 10/10/10 which is 42 in binary. If you love the book “Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy” as much as I do you’ll know that 42 is the ultimate answer to the question of Life, The Universe, and Everything! If you’re a geek/nerd and also me it’s even more unusual because 10:10 on 10/10/10 is binary for 682 which is my birthday! (If you’re slightly dyslexic) So, for two full minutes today, the universe will finally arrange to prove me right and show that it really does revolve around me! (But again, only if you’re slightly dyslexic.)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

