Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

“Let’s Take A Walk Around The Block” comes from the 1934 Broadway musical “Life Begins at 8:40.” It was written by Harold Arlen, E.Y. Yarburg, and Ira Gershwin. I couldn’t find any info on when Doris Day recorded it.

The only exercise I consistently, willingly and eagerly do is walking. Though at the pace I go it’s probably better for my soul than it is for my body. I walk the path behind the office where I work every week day. It helps the day go much more smoothly if I take my mind out of the cubicle and give it some space and time to wander.

The first thing I want to do when I’ve had a stressful day is take a long brisk walk. Well, okay the first thing I want to do is consume half a wheelbarrow full of carbs. But the second thing I want to do is walk! I had an epically rotten day not too long ago as a matter of fact. Luckily my commute leads me past a forest preserve where the Fall colors were just starting to reach their full glory. I turned off and took a nice long vigorous walk that reminded me that even on the rough days the world is still a beautiful place. It didn’t stop me from making the convenience store pit stop of shame (Little Debbie you vixen!) But at least I could pass it off as post workout carbo loading. (That’s a thing right?)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

