Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

I thought I’d play “Tampico” today which is a song I first heard on the Crystal Telephone radio podcast a few weeks ago.  Imagine my surprise and delight when I discovered that You Tube has the soundie! Here’s Stan Kenton and his Orchestra with June Christy in living black and white.

My how times have changed since 1945! Back then when we went to war after an attack on American soil we actually won. No one in the movies was allowed to even hint that sex existed and yet that generation went on to make enough babies to completely crush our Social Security system. Now this song tells us that people used to travel to Mexico to buy cheap, shoddy souvenirs made in the USA! If it wasn’t for the pesky little problems of rampant racism and sexism, I’d build a time machine and start selling vacations to our glorious past immediately. I’d market it as ” Bizarro World Holidays” and I’d make a fortune!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

