Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Grant Green has been called “one of the great unsung heroes of jazz guitar.” He said his biggest influences were not guitar players but horn players like Charlie Parker and Miles Davis. Internet music experts say this influence is evident in his phrasing. All I know is I’m glad to have been introduced to such a fantastic guitarist today!

When I was a kid my mom used to sing “Wives and Lovers” with hilarious gender bending parody lyrics. I never even knew the real words until I was an adult. The basic message of the song is “If you don’t stay pretty your man will have the right to cheat on you.” I bet it does keep relationships fresher if couples spruce up for each other on a semi regular basis. But naturally, as a feminist, I reject the notion that my bad hair day gives my partner a license to ho’!

Comments on: "Grant Green:Not Just A Pretty Face" (2)

  1. oldhippierick said:

    For a few of Grant’s side work I have posted at “Jazz and Blues All Day” check it out /;-))

    ☛ ..where word’s do fail, music speaks true.
    ♥ & ☮ ~ ☮ldhippierick

    http://oldhippierick.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

