Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

One You Tube commenter said he thought this video was being played back at a slightly higher than normal speed. I can see where he might have gotten that idea. “Basie Boogie” actually did start out as a much slower tune but over the years it evolved so that this is the correct tempo for this smokin, swingin number.

I think I’m pretty competent in both the “plain” and “with my bad self” varieties of getting down, but at first this video made me question my ability to boogie.  Then I realized that surely this is some super advanced god-like level of boogieing. There must be lower, more attainable tiers for us mere mortals. For example I may not have the scores to rate a Taste Of Honey  “Oogie Oogie” level of boogie proficiency, but I’m fairly certain even I can claim mastery of the “Bertha Butt Boogie!”

Comments on: "Basie And Boogie For Lesser Mortals" (1)

  1. […] Thomas began his career as a vocalist for the Count Basie Orchestra in 1961. His distinctive singing style included grunts, groans and yodels. He claimed to have […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

