Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

By the time Steve Gadd was 11 he had already appeared on The Mickey Mouse Club and sat in with Dizzy Gillespie! Since then he’s worked with many greats in rock, pop, and jazz like Steely Dan, Chick Corea, Joe Cocker, and Paul McCartney. Here he is demonstrating the skill that has kept him in such high demand for so many decades.

I don’t remember Steve Gadd’s episode of the Mickey Mouse Club but I must have seen it. I’m pretty sure I saw them all. In fact my mother was one of the original Mouseketeers! Okay she wasn’t but I had ya going there for a split second didn’t I? She had me going for months! I would rush home from school every day to watch the show hoping to catch a glimpse of my mom in those mouse ears but I never saw her. “Keep watching,” she’d say “I’m in the later shows.” I must have watched most of two seasons before she finally copped to the deception. By then I was hooked on the show, and probably in need of intense psychotherapy. But on the nerdy upside, I know that Steve’s episode would have been on Talent Roundup Friday and I can sing you the whole “Talent Rodeo” theme song if pressed. (Any takers? No?) Unfortunately they don’t have original version on You Tube so here’s the Tuesday Guest Star theme instead. There are a billion Mouseketeers in this shot but trust me when I tell you that none of them are my Beautiful Mom!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

