Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

RIP Leslie Nielsen

On 11/29 Frank wrote:

Rest in Peace, Leslie Nielsen…

Leslie Nielsen had a 30 year career as a dramatic actor before he took the fateful role in the 1980 movie “Airplane” which launched the even more successful second half of his career. “Police Squad” only ran for 6 episodes in 1982 but it had enough of a following that it spawned three successful movies. Here is a montage of the closing scenes from each of the TV episodes along with the excellent Ira Newborn theme song.

I remember the first time I saw “Airplane.” I went with my mother and her (then) new husband. I don’t think I’d ever laughed so hard at a movie before. My mom laughed a lot too. Her husband never cracked a smile. I suppose I should have taken that as an omen. But this ain’t my therapy session. Let’s just remember a very funny man who will be missed.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

