Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Harry James began playing professionally in 1935. By 1939 he was leading his own band. By 1941 he had his first top 10 hit “You Made Me Love You.” The song “Sleepy Time Gal” was written in 1924 or ’25 (sources disagree). I had never heard the Harry James version of this song but I know the Dean Martin version well.

Random personal thought: Even though I know this is a standard record player, this video reminds me how much I’ve always wanted a wind up Victrola. I’d love to have one of those and a stack of cool jazzy and bluesy 78s.

I am a bit of a Sleepy Time Gal myself today because I didn’t get much sleep last night. That’s nothing new of course, I’ve never been a great sleeper. I’m pretty sure it’s because of the ADD that no one’s ever diagnosed in me but that I’ve convinced myself I have anyway.  I usually don’t have too much trouble falling asleep but if I wake up in the night (as my bladder often dictates) I am usually unable to get back to sleep for several hours if ever. Of course this leaves quite a bit of extra time to feed my social networking addiction. So if you see some creepy lady lurking around your Twitter, forum or Facebook page at 4am don’t worry, it’s only me. I may not go away until my alarm goes off but I’m probably much too sleepy to do any harm.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

