Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

I don’t know how these two men met but I’m guessing it was through Norman Granz, since both men toured extensively with Jazz At The Philharmonic. Of course it really doesn’t matter how they met. I’m just glad they did. I think this Gershwin tune was filmed in Sweden in 1963. It’s included on a DVD called “Oscar Peterson Live In ’63, ’64 and ’65.”

I was thinking about the first line of the song which is “They’re writing songs of love, but not for me” and an odd thing occurred to me.  I went through a terrible song writing AND terrible poetry writing phase as a teenager but, oddly, I never wrote a love song for anyone. I was a dateless wonder back then but I did have plenty of crushes. There should have been spiral notebooks filled with paeans about Mark Garner, and Jesse Cooper and… what’s-his-name, the kid with braces but no, mostly I wrote about angst and snacks… good God absolutely nothing has changed has it?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

