Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

The scene is from “The Great Muppet Caper” (1981) and it was filmed in London’s Hyde Park. To this day no one (outside of the organization) knows how it was all done. They did give away one secret on a TV show I saw once. At the very end when all the Muppets are riding together, the bikes are attached to each other with tie rods and they are being pulled by a couple of tow trikes. If you pause at about 3:21 you can see a guy in a green shirt looking back. He’s riding one of the trikes.

I’m a HUGE Muppet fan but, oddly enough, I wasn’t all that fond of “Muppet Caper” the first time I saw it. I loved the music on “Sesame Street” and “The Muppet Show” and I wore out 2 or 3 tapes of the first “Muppet Movie” soundtrack. I had high expectations for the music in this movie but, for me, it just fell flat. I never even bought this soundtrack. I am glad I rewatched it though because, other than its musical blandness, it’s got everything else you could want in a Muppet movie. I am now a fan and I’m not the only one here on this forum. Check out cool homage made by my good friend and MSTie twin fifthrate!

Identical Twins Visit Dragon Con

I think his kerchief is very fetching don’t you? Oh wait, that’s me.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

