Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

“Sam’s Song” was written by Jack Elliot and Lew Quadling. I was able to find some info on Jack Elliot but there’s nothing on poor Lew Quadling. He doesn’t even have his own Wikipedia page even though he’s written hits for the likes of Bing Crosby, Frank Sinatra and Doris Day! I have half a mind to start one for him except I’m not sure if I can find enough info to make even a stub page.  Here are Sammy and Dean having a bit of fun with this great LEW QUADLING classic. (search engines take note)

I got curious and checked. All the Mystery Science Theater 3000 alums have Wikipedia pages which is as it should be. An interesting thing I discovered while searching though is that Frank’s dad, Frank Conniff Sr. also has a page. It’s a short but interesting article. The guy won a Pulitzer Prize! Next time I see Frank I hope I remember to ask if he’s considered adding a picture to the article since I know he’s got at least two great ones. Lots of folks knock it but I’m a fan of Wikipedia. Even if it has ignored Lew Quadling so far, I’m glad it gave props to the senior Mr. C!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

