Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

The Mike Sammes Singers

“Pick Yourself Up” was written in 1936 by Jerome Kern and Dorothy Field for the movie “Top Hat.” Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers sang it as a duet in the film. This version is sung by the Mike Sammes Singers who sang back up for many pop legends in the 50s, 60s and 70s.

This is one of my 14 billion favorite songs. I identify with the happy, optimistic message because I am basically a happy and optimistic person. I find one of the 14 billion secrets of happiness is to surround yourself with awesome people. I’m thrilled that the internet has helped me to do just that. My involvement with online communities has allowed me to connect with close to 14 billion other fantastic friends. This is probably the 14 billionth time I’ve written the yay social networking friends sentiment on this blog but it occasionally bears repeating.  All in all I’d say I’m one of the luckiest geeks in the observable universe which, by the way, has a radius of 14 billion light years (really).

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

