Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Ten TV Themes In Six Minutes

The themes in this video are, in order:

  • Johnny Staccato (1959-1960)
  • Mr. Broadway (1964) – Music by Dave Brubeck
  • 87th Precinct (1961-1962) – Look for Norman “Mr Roper” Fell
  • Checkmate (1960-1962) – Look for Sebastian “Mr. French” Cabot
  • Suspense Theater (1963-1965)
  • Amos Burke: Secret Agent (1963-1966) – Also called Burke’s Law?
  • Hawk (1966) – Look for young Burt Reynolds
  • T.H.E Cat (1966-1967)
  • The Baron (1966-1967)
  • Man In A Suitcase (1967-1968)

Like many latch key kids of my generation, TV raised me. I’m sure I lost my fair share of IQ points logging so many hours in front of the idiot box but it did make me something of a TV theme song savant. The TV shows in this video are all before my time but I know my fair share of obscure ones too. Anyone remember the theme from Mel Brooks sitcom “When Things Were Rotten?” I do! How about the “Mary Tyler Moore Show” spin-off “Phyllis?” Yup, I can sing that one too. Can anyone else hum the disco-rific theme song for the Desi Arnaz Jr. stinker “Automan?’ No? Uh… yeah… me neither.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

