Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Actor John Dye passed away Monday. He starred in the TV show “Touched By An Angel” with Della Reese. First and foremost, RIP Mr. Dye.

I just realized we d0n’t have any Della Reese on this blog! Della got her start in 1944 at age 13 singing with Mahalia Jackson‘s gospel group. She signed with her first record label in 1953 and in 1960 she earned her first Grammy nomination for her album “Della.” She added acting to her impressive resume in 1956 and in 1969 she became the first African-American woman to host her own talk show. Here she is in a groovy Scopitone all about heaven and angels. It was made three decades before she starred in the series “Touched By An Angel.” Coincidence? Yes, of course it is but it’s still a pretty fun one. Plus, it’s a soundie!

I never watched “Touched By An Angel” because I am a heathen. To be more precise, even though I’m not a person of faith myself, I believe nearly all major religions and belief systems have something important to teach us. Yes, even astrology. Even with the new change in signs it’s still totally valid. I used to be a Cancer which meant I was domestic, nurturing,Ā intuitive, and emotional. Which, omigawd, sounds just like me! Now I’m a Gemini which means I’m lively, charming, and a great conversationalist which, omigawd, sounds just like me! I checked and I’m a total Taurus, Aries, Pisces, Aquarius, and Capricorn too so if they ever have to move us again I’m probably safe. If they bump me to Sagittarius though I’ll know it’s all bogus. Optimistic, independent, and philosophical indeed… oh no wait, omigawd, that totally sounds just like me!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

