Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

“Mountain Greenery” was written by Rogers and Hart for the 1926 edition of the musical revue “The Garrick Gaieties.” There were three editions altogether. One in 1925, one in 1926, and the last one in 1930. The review was named after the theater in which it was performed.

This particular version of the song was performed in season one of the “Dick Van Dyke Show” on episode 28 “The Sleeping Brother.” It’s the second part of a two parter with special guest star Jerry Van Dyke as Stacy Petrie. It’s one of my favorite episodes so I watched parts 1 and 2 on Hulu last night.

In this episode Rob and Laura throw a cocktail party and a dinner party both in same week! Just watching that is enough to give a poor introvert like me hives! To me throwing parties feels like a lot more work and stress than fun so I don’t entertain… or I didn’t for as long as I could get away with it. Last year the Beautiful Girl got to the age where all her friends were having birthday parties and so, for the love of the child, I threw a party for the first time in my adult life. It was fine. I’ll do it again this year but I’ll never love it. I’ve often wondered if I’d be more inclined to entertain if I had a housewife to handle all the details. Of course she’d have to be a dude to make it really work for me so it might be tough to find the right person. Ah well, maybe one day I’ll put an ad on Craigslist and see what happens!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

