Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

This Mitzi Gaynor/Benny Goodman clip is from a show which is showing a clip from Mitzi Gaynor’s 1978 TV special “Mitzi… What’s Hot, What’s Not.” (Draw a flowchart. That makes sense, I promise.)

Mitzi was born Francesca Marlene de Czanyi von Gerber. Gee, I can’t imagine why she shortened it. She began her career in 1943 at age 12 as a ballet dancer in the Los Angeles Civic Light Opera corps de ballet. She made her film debut in 1949 in the movie “My Blue Heaven” and then went on to star in several hits like “There’s No Business Like Show Business” and “South Pacific.” Mitzi stopped making movies in 1960 but she had a string of television specials through the 60’s and 70’s. She is currently touring with her one woman show “Razzle Dazzle: My Life Behind The Sequins.”

The “What’s Hot, What’s Not” special starred “Love Boat’s” Gavin McLeod, “Young And The Restless'” John McCook, and jazz legend Benny Goodman so apparently they were “Hot” in 1978. I have never been cool but I never realized just how tragically unhip I was until now. Back then I was into stuff like the Bee Gees, mood rings, and “Charlie’s Angels.” If only I had listened to Mitzi Gaynor I might never have turned out to be giant nerd I am today. Bah who am I kidding, no offense to Mitzi but I’m glad I had bell bottom pants and huge hair wings. I LOVE being the giant nerd I am today!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

