Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Rudy Vallee

Rudy Vallee has come up a few times this month so I thought it was time to give him a post of his own. Rudy actually started out as a musician. He played clarinet and saxophone but his singing made him the very first mass media pop star. Today’s Gagas and Biebers owe him a debt of gratitude for pioneering the concept.  He started making movies in 1929 to capitalize on his incredible success and he became a fine comedic actor. He also hosted several very popular radio variety shows throughout the 30’s and 40’s. Here he is in 1927 with his first band the Yale Collegians which he formed in college. The song is called “Just Another Memory” but I don’t know much more about it. Google just kept giving me info about Pink Floyd’s “The Wall” for some odd reason…

I had my fair share of crushes on pop idols while I was growing up but my very first crush was that dreamy, sweater-clad Boy From The ‘Hood we all know and love. That’s right, when I was a Beautiful Preschooler I used to dream I’d grow up to be Mrs. “Mr. Rogers” and I know I’m not the only one. I swear Tiger Beat magazine could have cornered the preschool fan girl market if they’d printed a pin-up poster of him. Especially if they’d caught him with his indoor cardigan unzipped! *swoon*

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

