Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Jimmie Lunceford learned to play several instruments as a child before finally settling on saxophone. After college he worked for a few years as a high school music teacher before launching his professional career in 1929. He remained a popular and innovative band leader until his untimely passing in 1947 at the age of 45.

The song choice today is a continuation of the cartoon music appreciation theme. It’s “The Merry-Go-Round Broke Down” (Friend, Franklin 1937). The Jimmie Lunceford Orchestra recorded it in 1937 with vocalist Cy Oliver.

If I were to make a CD box set of the soundtrack of my life, this song would surely be on every disc! My daughter doesn’t get to watch nearly as much violent, racist, misogynistic TV as I used to when I was a kid and, as a parent, I have to say that’s probably a good thing. But… Looney Tunes man! You know what I mean? Am I right??

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

