Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

The Invisible Boy?

There’s not nearly enough music in this video to include it in a music blog, but I’m doing it anyway. It’s a trailer for the 1957 movie “The Invisible Boy.” I’d never even heard of the movie until today. But, to give this post some legitimacy, I’ll tell you the film’s score was composed by Les Baxter who conducted orchestras for many prominent radio shows in the 40’s. He also arranged and orchestrated music for stars like Nat King Cole, Margaret Whiting, and Frank DeVol. You can enjoy a tiny bit of his score in this trailer. You can also watch the whole movie here.

Why, you may ask, would I post a clip from a cheesy 1950’s Red Scare horror movie on a music blog? Well I’ll tell you! I’m always interested in what leads random strangers to read my writing. Apparently someone (possibly two someones) recently found me by typing “The Invisible Boy” into a search engine. I have no idea what they were looking for but I know they didn’t find it here. It made me curious enough to do a search and give them something worth finding if they should ever try again. Now all I have to do is figure out why the hell the phrase “reasons men die younger” sends Googlers to my virtual front door and erase it immediately!

Comments on: "The Invisible Boy?" (1)

  1. […] mentioned Frank DeVol back on 3/9 and realized we had no posts about this wonderfully talented man. Frank was a musician, an […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

