Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

The video I posted back on 3/12 made me think of the Beatles song “Blackbird.” I have always loved the song’s message of hope but I just learned today that it was actually written about the American Civil Rights movement. Paul McCartney says the idea for it came to him while he was doing a poetry reading in Scotland, the very center of the African-American struggle for equal rights!

I kid Paul of course, one never knows where inspiration will strike. I’m sure we’re all just grateful when it strikes legendary musical geniuses like him. I’m sure we’d all be equally grateful if “inspiration” spent a little less time striking the likes of Charlie Sheen and Snooki!

Comments on: "…And Speaking Of Civil Rights Songs Featuring Birds" (1)

  1. Saw a link to this post over at Digg. Thanks for posting it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

