Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Roberta Flack was such a gifted pianist that she received a full scholarship to Howard University when she was 15 years old. She graduated at 19 and spent several years working as a middle school music teacher before she was discovered by Les McCann. She recorded the song “First Time Ever I Saw Your Face” (MacColl 1957) in 1969 but it didn’t become popular until Clint Eastwood used it in his movie “Play Misty For Me” (1971).

I absolutely love this beautiful song but, I must confess, I don’t believe in love at first sight. I believe in lust at first sight or attraction at first sight but not true love.  I will grant that perhaps I feel this way because it’s never happened to me. The strongest emotion my tepid Midwestern blood  has ever managed was hey-you’re-cute-let’s-have-coffee-and-chat at first sight… Actually wait, now that I think about it, that’s not true. I was completely and utterly bessotted with my daughter the first time ever I saw her face. I guess my belief in instant love turns off and on depending on whether or not it suits my narrative. It’s fine though because here on this blog we don’t know the meaning of the word hypocrisy and we’re not gonna look it up!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

