Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

“(Get Your Kicks On) Route 66” was composed by Bobby Troup in 1946. He wrote it while he was on a cross country drive from Pennsylvania to California. Almost every city mentioned in the song is listed in geographical order. Only Winona, AZ is out of order for rhyme convenience. The highway passed through 8 states and the song lists cities from every one of them except Kansas. Gee… can’t imagine why he skipped that one. Nat King Cole recorded the song first and his is my favorite version.

I picked the song because it has numbers in it but I would have LOVED to have taken a road trip on Route 66! The road is almost gone now but there are a couple of long stretches left in Oklahoma, Arizona and California. Someday I’m going to rent a cool convertible and put the top down and drive them all! I want to get a tan so rich and deep that people will think I’m from the islands! And I would too if I hadn’t spent the first 12 years of my life as a red head. What will actually happen is I’ll put on a ton of sunscreen or I freckle and burn like the fairest lass from the Emerald Isle. Yeah, I know, I really just need to rip up my Black Person card and load up my Bing Crosby, Corrs, and Shaquille O’Neal CDs and embrace my inner Erin go Braugh!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

