Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Pink Lady And Jeff

Television variety shows were very popular from the beginning of TV history and they remained popular through the 70’s. By the 80’s though the format was almost dead and “Pink Lady And Jeff” was one of the nails in the coffin. The show ran for 5 weeks in 1980 and it starred Japanese pop duo Pink Lady and comedian Jeff Altman. I don’t know which of the 6 episodes this is but, obviously it’s the one starring Hugh Heffner. The song is “My Kind Of Town” by Jimmy Van Husen and Sammy Cahn. I wonder if  the director even bothered to mention whether or not people should be lip syncing for this number. There really doesn’t seem to be much consensus on the matter.

I am a fan of bad television and cinema (obviously). A lot of other fans talk about having a certain affection for bad films but, with a few exceptions, I really don’t think I share the love. I mostly just like making fun of them or watching others make fun of them. I could be wrong about that though because I do have “acting in an ultra low budget movie” on my bucket list. I read the blog of a guy who did it and he made it sound so cool that I’ve been fascinated by the notion ever since. I want to see low-budget, guerilla film making first hand. I want to be present at some of those not so historic “That’ll have to do because we can’t afford to reshoot it” moments. I’m over 40, fat and unwilling to get naked so I’m definitely not leading lady material but I’d be thrilled with a one liner or a walk on part. I’m talentless and willing to work for free so, I think I have what it takes to achieve bit part, b-movie greatness!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

