Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

The Magnificent Seven

April 4 was Elmer Bernstein‘s birthday. He would have been 89 years old. As a child Elmer was a dancer and an actor and he won several awards for his paintings. He became interested in music at the age of 12 and he immediately began to show a talent for compostition. During his 50 year career he won several major awards. “The Magnificent Seven” theme, which is today’s video, was named in AFI’s Top 25 Film Scores list.

You know it’s funny, I almost never watch a western unless I’m forced to but I always enjoy them when I do. “The Magnificent Seven” movie is not streaming online but the TV series is. I’m sure it’s not as great as the movie but it did get pretty good reviews (which probably explains why it only lasted two seasons). I don’t think I need to worry about being “forced” into watching it. The minute I sit on the couch, 48 pounds of devoted,(as far as she’s concerned) lap dog will keep me firmly pinned in place!

Comments on: "The Magnificent Seven" (1)

  1. […] Seven” theme song to celebrate Elmer Bernstein’s birthday. I blogged about it on April 6 and when it came up during the “Movie Theme Song” category I knew the title […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

